TYPO3 CMS Stores Cleartext Password in User Settings Module
The advisory, in context
Problem
The backend user settings module (SetupModuleController) incorrectly conflates entity data (like passwords or email address) with user-interface settings (like theme, display options) when persisting changes. As a result, passwords were stored in cleartext in the uc and user_settings fields of the be_users database table.
The cleartext data was only persisted if users changed their credentials in the backend user settings module when the TYPO3 14.2.0 release was used (not in any other version).
Solution
Update to TYPO3 version 14.3.0 LTS which fixes the problem described.
[!IMPORTANT] Manual actions required
Updating to the patched release does not retroactively clean existing data. It is recommended to execute all User Settings upgrade wizards in the TYPO3 Install Tool, including the dedicated User Settings Scrubbing wizard, which sanitizes the incorrectly persisted cleartext values from the
ucanduser_settingsfields of thebe_userstable. Additionally, affected backend user accounts should be assigned new passwords.Admin Tools → Upgrade → Upgrade Wizard → User Settings Scrubbing
Credits
TYPO3 thanks Martin Clewing for reporting this issue, and TYPO3 core team members Oliver Hader, Stefan Bürk and Garvin Hicking for fixing it.
Affected packages
Start with the recorded fix for your release branch. Check your installed version and test compatibility before upgrading. Fixing this advisory does not rule out other vulnerabilities in the release.
From 14.2.0 before 14.3.0
Fixed in 14.3.0
2 explicitly affected versions
14.2.0, v14.2.0
View affected-version evidence
{
"ranges": [
{
"events": [
{
"introduced": "14.2.0"
},
{
"fixed": "14.3.0"
}
],
"type": "ECOSYSTEM"
}
],
"versions": [
"14.2.0",
"v14.2.0"
]
}